Twelve CN Students Named South Carolina Junior Scholars

Twelve 8th grade students have been named SC Junior Scholars for the 2021-2022 school year. The South Carolina Junior Scholars Program was developed by the South Carolina Department of Education (SCDE) during the 1985-86 school year to reflect the statewide effort to improve education in South Carolina and to provide for the needs of students possessing exceptional academic talent. The purpose of the program is to identify these students and to provide opportunities that will facilitate their intellectual growth, broaden their individual interests and promote their scholastic achievement.
The program includes a process for screening a potential talent pool of students, identifying and recognizing those students with exceptionally high scholastic achievement and intellectual ability, and sponsoring summer opportunities in collaboration with participating South Carolina colleges, universities, and the Governor’s School for Science and Math.
Please join us in congratulating the following students (listed in alphabetical order):
Baker, Ella (not pictured)
Burgess, Courtney
Corbett, Philip
Hydorn, Elizabeth (not pictured)
McNerney, Mary Margaret
Mikes, Olivia (not pictured)
Omura, Noah
Phillips, Zoe (not pictured)
Reisenauer, Jonah
Sciandra, Nicholas
Seezen, Jack
Smith, Marie